Skip to main content


Participation at West African University Game (WAUG)

WAUG games is an inter-university games among Universities in the West Africa Sub-region. All Universities in West Africa are eligible to participate and it is held once in every 4 years.


The first WAUG games was held in 1965 at the University of Ibadan. University of Ilorin first made appearance and participated in the 9th WAUG games held at the University of Benin, Nigeria in 1995. Since then the University of Ilorin has participated in all WAUG games to date.



Unilorin Participation/position

1st  WAUG Games (1965)



2nd WAUG Games (1967)

University of Chana Legion 1


3rd WAUG Games (1969)



4th WAUG Games (1971)



5th WAUG Games (1973)

University of Liberia


6th WAUG Games (1977)

U. G. Legion


7th WAUG Games (1981)

University of Cote.D.Voir


8th WAUG Games (1989)

University Du Quaqadoquo

Borkina faso


9th WAUG Games (1995)

University of Benin

4 gold

10th WAUG Games (1999)

University Du Abbomy Benin

No participation

11th WAUG Games (2003)

University Du Quaqodoqy

2 gold, 2 silver, 1 bronze – 7th position

12th WAUG Games (2008)

University of Lagos

1  gold, 2 silver, 3 bronze

13th WAUG Games (2011)

University of Ilorin

3 gold, 5 silver, 17 broonze – 10th position


WAUG – Championships

The West Africa University Games (WAUG) apart from staging the main games every four years also stages different WAUG championship on a yearly basis. The WAUG TATT is one of the Championships for events like Table Tennis, Athletics, Tennis (TATT). University of Ilorin has participated in the WAUG (TATT) as shown below:

WAUG TATT – Unilag. (2006) 1 gold, I bronze – 9th position

WAUG TATT – FUTA Akure (2010) 1 gold – 2 silver, 3 bronze

WAUG – B/Band Volley ball – University Abomey Calavi Benin (2009) - No medal.